How do you want to login to your Space account?

Don't have an account? Sign up now.

It looks like you haven't changed your password in a while. For your security, please change it now.

You can opt-out from either of these at any time

Any questions or concerns please contact us.

loading

George R. R. Martin Has Some Very Bad News For ‘Game Of Thrones’ Readers

got-snow

July 12, 2011 was a strange and wonderful time. “Game of Thrones” had just wrapped up its freshman season, “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2″ was only days away from theaters, and the fifth book in the “A Song of Ice and Fire Series,” “A Dance With Dragons,” hit the shelves to acclaim and fanfare. For fantasy fans, it was quite a day to be alive.

Flash forward to January 30, 2015, and things are looking far less bright for those of us who get our kicks from dragons and magic. “Thrones” is still on the air, sure, but there’s no more “Potter,” and even worse, George R. R. Martin just announced that “The Winds of Winter” isn’t hitting shelves this year at all. Yeah, I know. I buried the lede, there.

Let Ellaria walk you through it:

Anyway, The Guardian reports that “TWoW,” the highly anticipated sixth book in Martin’s saga, won’t be released in 2015. Instead, fans will have to make due with an illustrated edition of three novellas set in the world of Westeros.

“I have no information on likely delivery,” said Martin’s publisher Jane Johnson. “These are increasingly complex books and require immense amounts of concentration to write. Fans really ought to appreciate that the length of these monsters is equivalent to two or three novels by other writers.”

Here’s how we (and Jojen) feel about that:

All bitter disappointment aside, MTV News does realize that Martin can release his books whenever he wants. However, given that multiple plot lines on “Thrones” have already passed their source material — and that the show is breaking with it entirely on others — this is more than a little stressful for fans of “A Song of Ice and Fire.”

Knowing that “Thrones” showrunners D.B. Benioff and David Weiss are aware of Martin’s plans for the final two books and choosing to go a different way, coupled with the fact that he doesn’t seem to be getting anywhere with book six, is more than a little disheartening. Not as disheartening as the Red Wedding, but still. You get it.

… And if not, Sansa definitely does:

INNERSPACE CLIPS